How to contact us:

PO Box 5941

Kent, Washington 98064  253-277-1142


2017 Performance Excellence Northwest

Award Ceremony

Cedarbrook Inn

Bellevue, WA

June 23, 2017

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker Announces Four Recipients of 2015 Baldrige Award

Organizations Honored in Small Business, Education, Health Care and Nonprofits

WASHINGTON, DC - U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker today named four U.S. organizations as the 2015 recipients of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest Presidential honor for performance excellence. The honorees are recognized for their outstanding commitment to sustainable excellence through innovation, improvement and visionary leadership. This year’s recipients represent four different sectors and include a two-time winner for the seventh time in Baldrige history.



small girl and nurse
A nurse and young patient share a smile while preparing for a procedure at one of the units serving under the Charleston Area Medical Center Health System (Charleston, W.V.), one of the recipients of the 2015 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.
Credit: ©Charleston Area Medical Center Health System
View hi-resolution image


The 2015 Baldrige Award recipients—listed with their category—are:

• MidwayUSA, Columbia, Mo. (small business; won in the same category in 2009)
• Charter School of San Diego, San Diego, Calif. (education)
• Charleston Area Medical Center Health System, Charleston, W.V. (health care)
• Mid-America Transplant Services, St. Louis, Mo. (nonprofit)

“This year’s Baldrige Award honorees have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to improving their performance in all facets of their organizations, and they have served as role models for others to follow,” said Secretary Pritzker. “As America’s Innovation Agency, the Commerce Department is honored to support innovators and job creators who power our economy and help keep America open for business.”






Value of Baldrige Criteria Affirmed at Conference of U.S. Health Care Executives

U.S. hospitals and other health care organizations can raise the quality of health care while reducing costs by improving their performance using the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence as a complement to accreditation standards, affirmed key presenters at a recent conference of American health care executives.

The Baldrige framework is aligned with the standards of The Joint Commission—the Illinois-based accrediting body that influences U.S. health care quality through its role in accrediting thousands of health care organizations and programs. Due to their alignment, the Baldrige Criteria and The Joint Commission standards can be used together to advance organizational improvement and excellence, according to presenters at the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) 2014 Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago.

At the meeting, leaders of North Mississippi Health Services (NMHS), a 2012 Baldrige Award recipient, presented how they have used both the Baldrige Criteria and The Joint Commission standards to improve their organization’s performance. Rodger Brown, NMHS vice president, said his organization has utilized The Joint Commission standards and Baldrige Criteria in a "relentless pursuit of excellence" by its 6,200 employees and 491 physicians across 113 facilities, including 6 hospitals, 4 nursing homes, and multiple outpatient and support locations. He identified differentiators of NMHS’s performance as systematic, aligned, and deployed processes, with ongoing cycles of improvement, in accordance with the Baldrige Criteria and aligned with the accreditation principles.

Dr. Ormella Cummings, NMHS chief strategy officer; Lee Greer, NMHS physician/chief quality and safety officer; and Donna Pritchard, North Mississippi Medical Center chief nurse executive and administrator, also affirmed the value of the Baldrige Criteria in speaking about their organization’s improvement strategies and results.

Ann Scott Blouin, executive vice president of customer relations for The Joint Commission, pointed out similarities between the Baldrige Criteria and The Joint Commission standards, noting that both view leadership as essential in driving organizational improvement and both provide a consistent framework for criteria/standards-based assessment and evaluating progress.

The presenters pointed out synergies between accreditation and business practices for results in both clinical and nonclinical areas, and they showed how to integrate the Baldrige Criteria and The Joint Commission standards into organizational processes to achieve high performance while reducing costs.

For more information on the Baldrige Health Care Criteria or to download an electronic copy of the 2015-16 booklet, go to



Award Recipients

Del Norte Credit Union - 2013 Leadership Award Level

MultiCare Health System - 2012 Leadership Award Level

Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital - 2012 Achievement Award, Yakima, Washington; and the

King County Department of Assessments - 2012 Commitment Award Level

MultiCare Health Systems - 2011 Leadership Award Level

Whitewater Creek, Inc. - 2011 Commitment Award Level

MultiCare Health Systems - 2010 Leadership Award Level

Qualis Health - 2009 Leadership Award Level

Division of Child Support - 2009 Achievement Award Level

PAML - 2009 Achievement Award Level

PeaceHealth St. Joseph Medical Center - 2009 Achievement Award Level

Pullman Regional Hospital - 2009 Achievement Award Level